Mercat de La Boqueria – Barcelona, Spain

La Boqueria is one of the only market places I’ve been to in a foreign country…and I loved it. My parents gave me 20 euros to find myself something to eat for lunch but it was so hard to decide on what I wanted considering there was so much food staring at me the moment I walked in.

image

There are rows and rows of food – candies, chocolates, paella, crepes, cupcakes, shakes, fruits, meat…you name it, it was all there. 

image

image

In one corner of the market, there was a really long line for a booth called Creps Barcelona. As tempting as it was to eat candy and cupcakes for lunch, I decided to try some of the crepe and see what all the fuss was about. It was like a one-man show at that stand. The man making the crepes (as seen in the picture below) was really friendly to all his customers; he asked where tourists were from, what brought them there and all that.

image

I decided to try something new so I got a prosciutto crepe – it had caramelized onions, prosciutto, mozarella cheese, and mushrooms. IT WAS SO GOOD. There were a lot of other creative crepes on the menu and classic ones (strawberry, nutella, banana) as well. I highly recommend trying one out if you’re there.

image

My sisters went to the opposite end of the market and had some Paella Negra. They met the owner who was really interesting and apparently speaks like 3 languages and has lived in 4 different countries his whole life…something like that. 

Basically whether you just walk into La Boqueria or meet locals there, you’re in for a tasty and memorable experience.

More food:

image

Hope this post didn’t make you too hungry (cause now I am). 

Pam T xx

Leave a Reply

