2016 Resolutions

image

Yet another year has come and gone. 2015 started out rough for me but got better towards the end. Highlights: I was able to travel a whole lot over the summer, found my special little someone (well not exactly “found”), do well in school (I passed organic chemistry hallelujah), and close out the year in NZ and Australia with family and friends.

I figured I would copy my sister and write out some of my new year’s resolutions in hopes that posting it would make it more official.

Health and Fitness

  • Improve my posture – since I spend so much time on my laptop/desk studying, I have developed the worst crouched over posture…don’t wanna end up facing the ground when I get older
  • Work out at least 3x/week – luckily my schedule this semester allows for some work out days. #BBG anyone?

Social

  • Be a better friend – this one’s hard to measure, but I know more effort is required in this department
  • Go out at least once a month…yup, that’s realistic.

Growth

  • Keep a gratitude journal – it’s a journal wherein you write 5 things you’re grateful for in the past week or so. I would say I’m a grateful person in general, but it’s nice reminder to be thankful for the little things.
  • Read 5 books this year – no, not a school textbook. Any recommendations?
  • Write in my diary more often – it’ll be a good laugh for “future Pam”…but also being reflective is good
  • Blog at least once in two weeks – I have so much to write about!!!
  • Learn to cook a new dish every month
  • Go to church every week – I used to go every week but I haven’t been in a while (mostly because I can’t drive so it’s hard for me to go), but I should go back since it’s a place of solace for me
  • Improve video editing skills/edit more videos – I’m limited to iMovie, but I need to explore more
  • Lessen time on social media – I’m back to spending a ridiculous amount of time on YouTube, Instagram, and Facebook doing absolutely useless things. It might be a stretch to cold turkey those again, but damn I need to minimize the amount of time I spend on it. There’s a world out there people! Maybe replace that time by reading Time magazine?

Just… Life

  • Sleep early on week days (before midnight) – I’m such a night owl. My peak study hours are from 9pm-3am, but this needs to change because I hate being exhausted the next day.
  • Max 10 hours of sleep on weekends – I can literally sleep all day.
  • Keep track of finances and expenses
  • Be on time, if not 5 minutes early – it’s a Filipino stereotype to always be late, and unfortunately I’m someone that proves it to be true. I hate being late, yet I always am.

I tend to be afraid of making mistakes/making a fool of myself, which stops me from trying new things…so here’s a little reminder to shift that mindset:

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.
Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Make your mistakes, next year and forever.”
Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

