Singapore In a Nutshell

Last summer I flew from Manila to Singapore for a 4-day trip. Initially I was supposed to go with my sister and a family friend, but somehow plans changed and ended up going with my boyfriend instead (lol not complaining). We stayed in his sister’s place who was studying there at the time. (Thanks for the lodging and tour guide services, Wissa 😉 hehe)

First stop: UNIVERSAL STUDIOS!

image

It’s been a while since I’ve been to a theme park so I was really excited to get on the roller coasters. If you’re a fan of the more exciting rides (the ones that make your stomach drop and make you scream), I would recommend these rides: Battlestar Galactica (2 roller coasters that start at the same time – Cylon vs Humans, Cylon for the more daring ones! Your feet are dangling off the ride), Revenge of the Mummy, Transformers (3D rollercoaster), and Jurassic Park (wet ride).

P.S. Make sure you buy your tickets online so you can skip the line and head straight for the rides! Trust me, it’ll save you a lot of time.

image
image

I wanted Mickey ears but realized I was in the wrong place…so here are the adorable Elmo ears

image
image

Day Two: Cloud Forest and Flower Dome

From the website: The Cloud Forest showcases plant life from tropical highlands up to 2,000 metres above sea level. It features a 35-metre-tall mountain covered in lush vegetation, shrouding the world’s tallest indoor waterfall. ($28 for both)

As a science student I’ve spent several semesters learning all about plants so I was kinda geeking out in the Cloud Forest. It’s a really relaxing place just roaming up and down the entire conservatory.

From down below:

image
image

To up above:

image
image
image

Flower Dome: Basically a dome filled with flowers and lots of cacti. Great explanation, I know.

image
image

After visiting both domes we walked over to the Gardens by the Bay for the light show! We grabbed take out food by the restaurants nearby and claimed a spot on the grass. The light show lasted about 10-15 minutes of synchronized lights and patriotic music. Definitely recommend this! It was a nice experience…unique to Singapore!  Afterwards we got lost along one of the trails there…

image
image
image

Day Three: Haji Lane, River Cruise, Makansutra Gluttons Bay, Marina Bay

So Wissa took us for brunch at Stranger’s Reunion, it was a cute hipster place with AMAZING EGGS BENEDICT. You have to get it if you’re there. I might consider going back to Singapore just to have it.

image

Next stop: shopping at Haji Lane! It’s full of boutiques/artsy/hipster stores so we decided to check it out. Great place to look for souvenirs and little trinkets. I found a lot of dainty necklaces and rings, and the perfect diary. When we got tired we stayed at a coffee shop called Working Title for hours just talking, sippin on iced coffee and eating churros.

P.S. It’s an Instagram haven.

image
image
image
image
image

Next up: we took the train to head to Clarke Quay. I wasn’t able to spend a lot of time here, but there a ton of restaurants to pick from, also it’s quite the party place at night. We decided to get on the river cruise at this stop and see the city from a different point of view. (About $25)

image
image

We got off at the port by Marina Bay and walked across The Helix Bridge to get to our dinner in Makansutra Gluttons Bay! What I liked about Singapore was that it was so easy to get around. Their transit system was one of the best I’ve ever been on, the sidewalks are wide, there are pedestrian bridges (that light up at night?!), and pedestrian lanes all around. Whoever the urban planner of the city was got it right. Everywhere else, take note.

image
image
image

Makansutra Gluttons Bay is a street food area (definitely for gluttons like myself). There were a lot of food stalls lined up selling really good asian food, and on top of that it was cheap!!! We had chicken satays, breaded fried shrimp, fried rice…SO GOOD.

We spent the rest of the night walking around the bay watching the light show of Marina Bay Sands, taking photos by the Merlion, and sat somewhere along there talking till the wee hours of the morning. I’ve only traveled solo twice, but I can say that solo-traveling isn’t for me. I enjoy having company throughout the day and sharing experiences with other people, as well as random dance parties in public (but that might just be with Wissa)…but most importantly, at least someone can take my photo! Haha i’m kidding. But really though, talking for hours by Marina Bay was one of the highlights of my trip.

image
image
image
image
image

Don’t forget to have a typical Singaporean breakfast: Kaya toast, soft boiled eggs, and tea/coffee!

image

So that’s basically what I got up to during my trip to Singapore. It was a relaxing vacation exploring the city like a local (or so I’d like to think). Singapore is one of the most organized cities I’ve ever been to. Everyone follows the rules, they have a lot of green space around the city, they’re culturally diverse yet the city still has it’s own personality/culture, also you can feel a sense of nationalism amongst the people. Great city overall! Easy to travel around too (except it’s more expensive compared to other SE Asian countries).

I wasn’t able to go to these places but they’re probably worth checking out: Singapore Flyer, nightlife at Clarke Quay, the top of Marina Bay Sands, top of Gardens by the Bay, Singapore Zoo. Also, they have the best airport, free movie theatres and all.

Thanks again Wissa for showing us around. ♡ Your turn to come to Vancouver so Patch and I can take you around! Till next time, Singapore!

♡ Pam

Leave a Reply

