my 2017 new year’s resolution that i’ll actually stick to

I’ve pretty much had the same resolutions for the past 5 years: workout 3x/week, eat healthy, sleep earlier, go out more often, yadiya same old same old. Lezzbereal, I forget about my resolutions by the end of January. This year I decided to try a different approach when making my 2017 resolutions. Instead of listing out things I should do throughout the year I decided to stick to a theme the whole year.

This year’s theme: Celebrate moreCelebrate events, celebrate people, celebrate life.

Wow that sounds so cheesy. But I’ve realised that I tend to let life’s stressors get in the way of living in the moment and celebrating. So this year I’m making more of an effort to celebrate people’s birthdays, celebrate milestones, and celebrate people who are important to me. It can be small things like commending someone for their accomplishments, buying cupcakes for a friend’s birthday, giving someone a hand-written note, or throwing a surprise party (I have yet to do this).

There’s a saying that “you get what you give”. My younger self used to interpret this as “if you give someone a gift, you’re likely to receive one too”, which sounded like a pretty sweet deal to me (lol #selfish). The meaning changed for me last year (better late than never). Last October, I bought my sister flowers and chocolates to congratulate her for passing a big exam. I remember being excited picking out flowers and getting her favourite chocolates, knowing she’d love it. It felt even better when I gave it to her. It was a gesture to let her know how proud I was, more than my words would allow me to express. Her reaction was pretty priceless. It’s not like she threw her arms around me while saying “thank you” through her tears, a simple hug and smile made it feel like that though (and also, we’re not very affectionate people lol). It felt really good to make someone else feel good. You get what you give. I get it now.

So here’s to celebrating the big things and the little things in life. Here’s to going out of my way to make other people feel special and loved. No one should be too busy to do that.

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou

Cheers to that…on top of trying to get in shape, eat healthy, sleep more, be more social blah blah blah (I type as I’m sitting in a cafe with a half-eaten cinnamon roll next to me and an espresso cause I only slept for 6 hrs last night). Cheers!

 ♡ Pam

I’ll leave my favourite “new years” quote here:

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.
Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

Make your mistakes, next year and forever.” – Neil Gaiman

2 thoughts on “my 2017 new year’s resolution that i’ll actually stick to

  1. I love you theme: Celebrate more! I agree with you, there are so many things to celebrate. Even the simple things are worth celebrating. I hope you’ll have a wonderful year this year 🙂 and good luck on your new year’s resolution!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

