Snowshoeing on Cypress Mountain

I’m not much of a winter person. My idea of winter days/nights consist of snuggling up in bed watching Netflix with some hot choco, not tearing up the slopes snowboarding or …being outdoors. By mid-February I was in need of an adventure, just in time for Reading Break (reading break is essentially a week off school to “catch up on your readings”, but really that’s when the suicide rates peak in universities so they implemented this break).

My friends and I decided to drive up to Cypress Mountain in West Vancouver and go snowshoeing. I’ve never done it before and didn’t know what to expect but as long as it didn’t involve me falling on my ass every five minutes, I’m in! Here’s how our day went…

Started the day off with brunch at Catch 122 on Hastings St. Any time I go for brunch it’s always gotta be the Eggs Benedict order. I’m scouting for the best benny’s in town. This one’s high up on the list.

One of my favorite things about Vancouver is that the beach/downtown/mountains are an hour drive away. So we drove up to Cypress Mountain from Downtown: about a 45 minute drive aka the same length as Beyonce’s Lemonade album.

Like I said, I’m not an outdoors person during the winter so I was clueless when it came to dressing/packing for the hike. I showed up in my tank top, fleece jacket, wind breaker jacket, winter boots, and …leggings. One thing I would change: winter boots. You gotta wear waterproof boots people!!! Midway through the hike my socks were soaking wet and my toes were practically frozen. But that didn’t stop me! Oh, and I should’ve brought more snacks along.

The pass & snow shoe rental fee: $26. Here we are ready to take on the mountain. We grabbed a map with the different trail suggestions and followed the signs.

We pretty much had the mountain to ourselves. Aside from some cross-country skiers passing by, we were the only ones on the trail.

My fitness level was basically at sea level so I was trailing behind my friends 99% of the time. Thanks guys for waiting for me haha

IMG_1109

IMG_1142
View on our way down

IMG_1147IMG_1150IMG_1154

The hike took us around 4 hours total to get to the top and back. Note: a lot of time was spent taking photos. By the time we got down, it was just in time for sunset.

IMG_1156

We made it! Treated ourselves to some hot chocolate and Burgoo for dinner.
img_0328

I had a really good time. For anyone who isn’t a snowboarder/skier, snow shoeing might be the alternative for you. Anyone can do it — it’s basically hiking with uncomfortable shoes but with low chances of hurting yourself.

Pam 

Leave a Reply

